Remote work

Spain or Portugal for digital nomads: DNV and D8

Spain or Portugal for a digital nomad: Spain has a threshold of income of 200,000 SMI and has company and qualification requirements, Portugal has a four-year minimum wage and a two-year permit.

Information material, not individual legal opinion: Prepared using IE; checked by a subject matter specialist before publication has not yet been completed; conditions apply to a particular situation and may change.
Short
  • Income: Spain claims 2,849 I per month gross (20% SMI) and family allowance. Portugal: average income over the last three months is at least four minimum wages (RMMG), 2026 minimum wage 920 [2][5][6].
  • Qualification: Spain needs a diploma or experience of at least three years. [1][5].
  • Period of authorization: Spain to three years with two years extension, Portugal two years with three years extension [1][10].
  • Procedure: In Spain, the permit is issued electronically to UGE, and Portugal needs a full-time application to AIMA after a visa. [1][10].

What are the main differences between DNV and D8?

The difference is in income, documents and time. D8 is the common name of the Portuguese visa for remote work: on official pages it is described as a visa for professional activities performed remotely. The conditions below are the official sources of both countries on 2 October 2026.

ParameterSpain, DNVPortugal, D8
BasisLey 14/2013, articles 74 bis - 74 quinquies [1]Visa for professional activities performed remotely outside the country, article 88 of REPASE [10]
Income2,849 I am per month gross, plus 1,068 I am for the first and 356 I for the next family members [2]The average monthly income in three months is at least four RMMGs, with RMMG 920 I am 3,680 I [5][6]
QualificationDiploma or experience from three years [1]List D8 does not include [5]
CompanyActivity of at least a year, relationships of at least three months [1]Contract or declaration of employer, self-employed service contract [5]
AuthorizationUp to 3 years, 2 years extension [1]2 years, 3 years extension [10]
Time limit for judgementUGE: 20 days; visa: 10 working days [1]Residence visa: 60 days; temporary: 30 days [8]
Visa feesThe consulate tariff [3]110 I'm for a national visa [9]

The time frame for the decision in the table is normative, real in both countries, and we have not found official statistics.

What are the differences in income requirements?

In Spain, the sum is tied to SMI: the complainant is 20%, the first family member is 75%, and the next 25% [2]Amounts are considered to be outstanding taxes and contributions [2]Details of the calculation: DNV income in 2026.

Portugal on page D8 says: the monthly monthly income over the last three months is confirmed at least four minimum monthly wages (RMMG, remuneraçó mennal mínima garantida) [5]The RMMG 2026 page shows 920 . [6]The total amount of the two pages is 3,680. This amount, which is not specified on page D8, is not specified, and the total page on livelihood is RMMG net after the social security deductions. For the family, the same portal provides a common scale of livelihood: the first adult 100%, the next adults 50%, children under 18 and dependants 30% [6]Whether it is applied to D8 as an addition to the four RMMGs, the portal does not explain.

What are the differences between documents and procedure?

In Spain, the complainant confirms the qualifications, income, activities of the company for at least a year, relations with it for at least three months, indictability, insurance and social security [1][2]. Everything is submitted electronically to the UGE, and the visa application is accepted by the Consulate [1][3].

In Portugal, the D8 portal refers to the employer's contract or declaration or service contract, three months' income confirmation and a tax residence document; the general list of residence visas is supplemented by a certificate of non-judiciality from the country of nationality or country where you have lived for more than a year, and a road insurance with medical expenses [5]After a residence visa, you must apply to AIMA on the record (e-platform for visa holders, AIMA page, implemented): passport, visa, foreign employer or employer declaration and residence declaration with confirmation of residence [7][10].

How do you differ in the duration?

Spanish visa valid for up to one year, permit valid for up to three years, extension for two years [1]In Portugal, there is a temporary visa for up to one year and a residence visa for four months with two entries, after which an application for permission [7]B. Portuguese authorization for this category is valid for two years and extended for three years [10]The conditions of permanent residence in both countries do not cover this article, which is more detailed on Spanish time limits: How many years DNVs are issued.

What's not in the comparison?

Taxes and social contributions in both countries: Tax residence and the digital nomad regime depend on your income and length of stay, while visas and taxes are checked separately: in Spain, see also the "Centacy of the Nation" (see para. Tax residence and residence permitWe do not appreciate which country is best: it depends on the composition of the family, the source of income and the plans. DNV route sheet and Service page; the requirements for a diploma are addressed in the article Do you need a DNV degree?.

Frequent issues

What is the difference between the DNV in Spain and the D8 in Portugal?
The income threshold (20% of SMI versus 4 minimum wages in Portugal), qualification requirements and company, permit period (up to 3 years versus 2 years) and procedure: Spain's UGE operates electronically, Portugal needs to apply to AIMA after a visa. Taxes and insurance do not include in comparison. [1][5][10]
What kind of income is needed for DNV and D8?
For DNV: 2,849 I am per month gross for the applicant. For D8, the average income in three months is not less than four RMMGs, with a minimum wage of 920 I am 3,680 I per month. [2][5][6]
Do you need a D8 degree in Portugal?
The D8 document list on the vistos.mne.gov.pt portal does not include a diploma, while Spain requires a diploma or experience for at least three years. The Portuguese Consulate is free to request additional documents at its discretion, so check the list before recording. [1][5]
How long is the D8 issued in Portugal?
The permit is valid for two years from the date of issue, then extended for three years, and the residence visa is valid for four months with two entry points, a temporary visa for up to one year, and in Spain the permit is issued for up to three years, and then extended for two years. [7][10]
How much is a D8 and DNV visa?
In Spain, the national visa is 110. In Spain, the UGE is paid 73.26 and the consular visa fee is fixed by the Consulate ’s rate. See the table on the AIMA page for the authorization fee: no amount is given in the article. [3][4][9][10]

Based on source

  1. BOE · Ley 14/2013, articles 62, 74 bis - 74 quinquies, 75 and 76 ♪
  2. Ministry of Inclusion · UGE: documents for initial applications
  3. Spanish Consulate in Moscow · Visado de teletrabajo de carácter international ♪
  4. Ministry of Inclusion · UGE: FAQ by authorization for teletrabajadores ♪
  5. Portugal, Portal Diplomático · Visa, residency: documents for remote work (digitalnomads) ♪
  6. Portugal, Portal Diplomático · Visa, means of subsistence (RMMG 2026) ↗
  7. Portugal, Portal Diplomático · Visa, type of visa ↗
  8. Portugal, Portal Diplomático · Visa, deadlines ↗
  9. Portugal, Portal Diplomático · Visa, fees ↗
  10. AIMA · Autorização de residência para atividade profissional prestada de forma remota, art. 88.º REPSAE ↗

Sources are viewed on 02.10.2026. Consolidated texts and departmental reference pages are informative: legal application takes into account official publications, changes and specific circumstances. Material has not been personally checked by counsel.

Turn the information into questions.

The navigator will help to gather topics for individual review; it does not define the right to residence or submit an application.

Collect a memo

The NEXO working conditions: 30 minutes free of charge, full consultation 121 I in 45 minutes; maintenance costs are charged separately, fees and transfers. about the team..

You want to go on your own? Barcelona residence permit: from Empadronamiento to TIE and Formulas based on grounds.

How does this apply to your situation?

Choose a first step in the short quiz or discuss your questions with the NEXO team.