International telework · Spain
Spain’s Digital Nomad residence permit: requirements, income and documents for 2026
We explain the requirements, calculate the income needed for your family and prepare the documents for submission to the UGE. Figures updated on 1 October 2026.

Short
- Income per person
- 2,849 per month
34 188 a year, 200 per cent of the minimum wage, UGE 01.10.2026 - Family
- +1 068 € first, +356 € each next
The total monthly wage is 75 per cent and 25 per cent of the minimum wage, explaining the UGE at 01.10.2026 - Time frame for review
- 20 working days in UGE
Absentence of an agency means approval - Duration
- Up to 3 years of age when served from Spain
1 year through consulate, then extension - State
- 73.26 I'm for primary resolution
TIE map: 16.08 me, consular fee - Spanish clients
- not more than 20% of activity
Self-employed only; foreign employers
Who's right and who's not.
It fits.
- Employee of a foreign company that works for at least a year
- Freelancer or owner of a foreign client and contract business for at least three months
- There is a diploma or three years of experience in the profession
- Completely remote
Not appropriate.
- The employer is registered in Spain or has a Spanish branch (it is already a working residence or intra-corporate transfer)
- Income is passive: savings, rent, pension (see permission to live without work)
- Now you have no lucrativa: in the official explanation of UGE for the question of transition there is no because no lucrativa cannot work
- Spanish clients give over 20% of their activity
- Relationship with company or clients for less than three months
What does it look like in your model: Employee, Freelancer, DNV or autonomo, Work for a Spanish companyIf you have any doubts between the status, start with the article no lucrativa or Digital Nomad and comparative table of grounds.
Requirements 2026
The conditions are set out in articles 62 and 74 bis - 74 quinquies of Ley 14/2013 (to be further elaborated: International television work on Ley 14/2013). The table separately shows what is named in the law and what is specified by the UGE clarification as of 01.10.2026: the law does not name the amount of income, it is given by the department in its explanations.
| Requirement | From where the claim | What we're confirming |
|---|---|---|
| Sufficient funds: not less than 34,188 I per applicant per year (in explanation of UGE) | Law: Article 62.3.f Ley 14/2013 requires sufficient funds for itself and the family, does not specify the amount. 34 188 (200 per cent of minimum wage) indicates UGE explanation of 01.10.2026 | Contract, account statements, income statements for recent months (in United States dollars)Which documents are adopted) |
| Relationship with company or clients for at least three months | Law: Article 74 ter, paragraphs (c) and (d) | Employment contract or contracts, correspondence, acts, accounts |
| The company has been operating for at least a year. | Law: Article 74 ter, paragraph (a) | Company register, employer ’s letter (What's in the letter?) |
| Diploma or three years of experience | Law: Article 74 bis, paragraph 2 | Diploma with apostille and jury translation or workbook and recommendations (in the case of the author)if you need a diploma) |
| Medical insurance without pay and waiting periods | Law: Article 62.3.e requires public or private insurance with an insurers who are allowed to work in Spain; "without payment and waiting periods" to explain UGE | Spanish policy for the duration of the term.UGE criteria) |
| No criminal record | Law: Article 62.3.c (Certificate for the countries of residence of the last two years and application for five years) | For the countries of residence of the last two years, with apostille and translation, plus a five-year application |
| Social insurance | Law: Article 62.5 (Social Insurance Obligations); UGE clarification | Registration in the Spanish system or certificate of applicable legislation (discussed below) |
How much money do you need?
Spain's minimum wage in 2026 is 1,221 a month, with 14 payments, i.e. 17,094 a year. UGE explained that the threshold for the applicant was twice as high as 34,188 a year (200 per cent of the minimum wage).The law only refers to "sufficient funds" (art. 62.3.f). It is also explained that these resources must come from income from work.
You will see 2,849, and 2,442 me from other sites. The annual amount is the same. The difference in the recalculation is 34,188 me divided by 12 months or 14 payments. The government looks at the annual amount, so you can look at 2,849 me a month. The figure is about 2,760 I will see: this is the threshold of 2025, when the minimum wage was 1,184 me per month (16,576 me a year). It stayed on pages that were not updated.
Detailed calculation with examples: From where I come from 2,849 and how to count on family and 3-person family income.
| Composition | Monthly | Year |
|---|---|---|
| One complainant | 2 849 € | 34 188 € |
| Applicant and spouse or partner | 3 917 € | 47 008 € |
| Plus one kid. | 4 274 € | 51 282 € |
| Plus two kids. | 4 630 € | 55 556 € |
Income calculator
Accuracy, 2026 law, not conclusion, tax amounts.
Two ways to deliver
The main decision is to file from Spain or through the consulate, which is the period of validity and the time frame.
| From Spain (UGE) | Through the consulate | |
|---|---|---|
| Who can | Legally present in Spain, including tourists in the first 90 days | Living outside Spain |
| What do you get | Authorization for up to 3 years | Visa for up to 1 year, then permission to UGE |
| Time limit for judgement | 20 working days by law, silence of the agency means approval | Under the law, 10 working days (art. 75.5 Ley 14/2013), in practice may be longer: consulates request advice from central services (SIVICO) |
| Delivery | Electronic, need digital certificate or representative | Personal in the consulate on record. |
| Risk | We have to stay in Spain legally until we decide. | C. Cumulative workload and different document requirements |
For many clients, the best way to get a Spanish application is to get a permit for up to three years instead of one year, but it's not a good one for everyone, and we're checking your entry status first. Viza from the consulate gives you the right to live and work for up to a year. You can go to UGE for a permit by applying for a visa in the last 60 calendar days (article 74 quater).
The steps: from Spain or through the consulate, Travel visa application, Documents for the Consulate in Moscow, One-time Schengen visas for Russians and How many years DNVs are issued.
Documents
Select your model to see the list. Note the finished ones: the marks are stored only in your browser.
Most often, the questions are: certificate of indecent conviction from Russia, apostille on Russian documents, employer letterIf the agency requests supplements, 10 working days are given: How to Answer Requerimiento.
If you are from Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan or Ukraine
The general question is usually not answered by the general question for Russians: Digital nomad residence permit for Russians.
- No criminal record. For Russia, Belarus, Armenia and Uzbekistan, it takes apostille, then a juror's translation, and put it on a separate time.
- Employers and banks. Income must be documented and the company and the payment channels must not raise questions. Russian income statementsI mean, are they good? Russian IPs and self-employment, depending on how the contracts with customers are executed.
- Social insurance. There are two ways for a hired employee: to register a foreign employer in the Spanish system or to certify under an international social security agreement, whether the second route will be available to your country, to check before delivery: DNV employee without A1.
- Entry. If you plan to apply from Spain, visa conditions and the number of entry rates affect the route, and we'll specify before buying tickets: Schengen for Russians and residence plans.
- Other countries. Procedures for citizens Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Georgia is a feature of consulates and documents.
Social insurance and status after approval
According to the official explanation of UGE, working from Spain, you should be in the Spanish social security system, as it is, depending on your model.
| Model | What is required |
|---|---|
| Employee | The foreign employer is registered in advance in the Spanish system as a non-resident company without a branch and forms you instead of being a company's rights if there is a social security agreement between Spain and Spain and a certificate is issued that expressly refers to the Spanish coverage. |
| Freelancer, IP | You are in the process of being autono (RETA regime). |
For self-employed persons, the time limit is important: if no registration is available after approval and this is detected during the inspection, the permit may be terminated and this will affect the family members. The registration can be done through PAE with the tax part. DNV and Seguridad Social.
Taxes
You are a tax resident of Spain if you spend more than 183 days in the country a year or here the centre of your interest. Do you have to live in Spain for 183 days?.
| Normal Mode | Beckham Mode | |
|---|---|---|
| Rate | IRPF progressive scale on world income | 24% of income to 600,000 y, 47% higher |
| Duration | While you're a tax resident, | Year of move and five following tax periods |
| Condition | None | Not to be a Spanish tax resident for the previous five years |
| How to turn on | Normal declaration | Application (form 149) within six months of the start of social security registration activities |
| Accessed to | All residents | Hire teleworkers with a Ley 14/2013; freelancer is not usually available |
The law directly calls hiring workers with a telework visa. Beckham Law for a Digital Nomad and Taxes of the digital nomad in Spain.
Family
You can apply for a spouse or partner, children and dependent parents, at the same time as you or later. Children come in, and you are dependent on them, and you don't have a family. Income is considered to be a supplement: 1,068 per month for the first member of the family and 356 per person for each of the following. For each person you need a proof of your relationship. Live and work. spouse, partner without marriage, children over 18 and parents and family on DNV.
Time and expenditure
| Article | Amount or time |
|---|---|
| State for Primary Permit (model 790 code 038) | 73.26 I, paid online before filing, attached confirmation |
| Extension | Check the office page. |
| TIE map (model 790, code 012) | 16,08 € |
| Consular filing fee | by the Consulate tariff |
| Apostilles, jury transfers, insurance | Separately, depending on your country and documents |
| Preparation of package | Depends on countries and lines for apostille and translation, so we should start in advance. |
| UGE Review | 20 working days by law, silence of the agency means approval |
| Request for additional documents | 10 working days to respond |
| TIE map after decision | Need more than six months of authorization |
We recheck every February when the minimum wage changes.
More detailed: What DNV fees, How many UGEs are considering an application, How to verify the status of the application.
After approval and extension
After the decision, you write for prints, get a TIE card, register at your place of residence, get social insurance and, if you're right, apply for Beckham's regime. First 30 days after DNV approval.
The permit is extended for three years by two years, and the law allows an extension to be granted within 90 days after the permit is completed, but the deadline for submission before the end of the article is not specified, so we file the case ahead of time and do not take the case to the tail. The extension is applied electronically. The total is 5 years after which the journey to long-term residence is opened. The extension is checked that the conditions that gave the permit are retained: Any change in conditions must be reported to the UGE within 30 days (Ley 14/2013, additional regulation 7, para. 2), so that confirmations are to be kept from the first day. DNV extension after three years, change of employer to DNVGeneral order for other grounds on the page residence permit extension.
Request for addition and waiver
The request for additional documents (requerimiento) is frequent and not refused. 10 working days are answered, the applicant can be denied the request without reply. Requerimiento from UGE.
If the refusal comes, you can apply for a recurso de alzada. The time limit is one month, so you have to count it immediately. DNV, recurso and what to do next. The appeal is not included in the cost of our work, but to disassemble the refusal and understand whether it makes sense to appeal, we will help for consultations.
How we work and that it's worth it
First consultation: 30 minutes free. Full individual consultation: 121 I in 45 minutes. Next, we count the value individually and draw up the estimates you sign before you start work. State fees and transfers are paid separately and are in the budget by separate lines. Prepaid: 50% before you start work and 50% before you deliver.
We're handling the case before the agency's decision, the requests and the re-suit are included in the value, the appeal is not included, we don't promise approval, we don't have responsibility for the time frame of the agencies: the decision is made by the public authority.
- It's a deal. Checking the model, income, documents, and delivery route.
- Preparation. Collect and check documents, arrange apostilles and translations.
- The pitch. The delivery is performed where the law allows the representative (notarial power, apud acta, registered representative), where the personal delivery (consul, arraigo) is prepared and accompanied by the representative, and the responses to the agency's queries are prepared with you.
- After the decision. TIE map, registration, taxes, extension plan.
Frequent issues
Can you apply for a tourist visa in Spain?
How much do you have to earn in 2026?
Are the income from a Russian company considered?
What if there is no diploma?
Can you work with Spanish clients?
Do you need to register as autono?
What kind of insurance is it?
What if UGE is silent?
Is Beckham's regime suitable for a freelancer?
What's gonna happen in three years?
Can you change your employer to DNV?
Is it necessary to live in Spain for 183 days?
Can you switch to DNV with no lucrativa?
Can family members work in Spain?
Take a look at the details.
Sources
- BOE: Ley 14/2013, articles 74 bis - 74 quinquies, 76 and additional provision 7 (international telework)
- Ministry of Inclusion, UGE: responses to frequent requests for permits for teleworkers (in Spanish)
- BOE: amount of fees for foreigners
- BOE: Real Decreto 126/2026, 2026 minimum wage
- BOE: Real Decreto 87/025, 2025 minimum wage
- BOE: Ley 35/2006 on IRPF, articles 9 and 93 (Becham regime)
- Agencia Tributaria: modelo 149, application for treatment of moving workers
- Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Spain: pages of the consulates on the teleworking visa
Minimum wage 2026 for Real Decreto 126/2026. Sources checked 3 October 2026. Material information and does not replace individual legal advice.
How does this apply to your situation?
Choose a first step in the short quiz or discuss your questions with the NEXO team.
